We all want true friends. Ones that will stick with us through thick and thin. Ones that will always be there. Ones that will never hurt us, never betray us, only encourage and lift us up.
One day… but not today.

We live in a imperfect world. Don’t put those expectations on your friends. Jesus didn’t. He knew there would be times when His friends would fail Him. He knew He only had one true friend. Yet, He still deeply loved His other friends, despite their imperfections.

One of you will betray me
Surely not I?
Woe to that man who betrays

You will fall away
Even if all fall away, I will not.
You yourself will disown me
Even if I have to die with you, I will never disown you
All the others said the same

Sit here while I pray
My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death
He fell to the ground
Not what I will, but what you will

Could you not?
Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation
The spirit is willing, but the body is weak

Once more he went away
He came back
He again found them sleeping
They did not know what to say to him

The third time
Still sleeping and resting?
Enough!
Here comes my betrayer

[He] kissed him
Everyone deserted him and fled
A young man, wearing nothing but a linen garment, was following Jesus
When they seized him, he fled naked, leaving his garment behind

[He] followed him at a distance
He sat with the guards and warmed himself at the fire
She looked closely at him
He denied it
Again he denied it
He began to call down curses on himself, and he swore to them,
“I don’t know this man you’re talking about”
Immediately the rooster crowed
[He] remembered
He broke down and wept

(excerpts from Mark 14:18-72, NIV)

Praise be to God that we can have one true Friend!

Your turn to share: What is one way you, personally, can be a better friend to others (i.e. be a better listener than you are now)?