Baking1 I love to bake! It’s probably because I have so many good memories of baking homemade chocolate chip cookies in our family kitchen when I was young. I also remember having to wait and wait for my mom to finish mixing the cookie dough so I could lick the beaters clean! Now, what a joy it is to see the anticipation in my children’s eyes as they wait for me to finish mixing the batter! Each of my four enjoy helping out in the kitchen from time to time, but lately both Felicia and Jacob have been part of my baking crew. We now have our system (so that the experience doesn’t drive mom crazy!). Felicia gathers all the ingredients, I measure out all the Baking3ingredients, Jacob pours them in, and then Felicia stirs until the batter gets too heavy for her to continue. I finish it up and then they lick all the utensils until their faces and fingers are painted with sticky cookie dough! (Of course, this perfectionistic mom has a washcloth in hand ready to clean faces and hands before they leave the kitchen!!)

Baking2Lately, I have really been enjoying these times with them. Everyone’s relaxed. We laugh a little, talk a little, get messy a little, and eat a lot (smile).

Also, we have found this to be a great way to get to know our neighbors and friends a bit more as well. It is not very common for Chileans to make homemade desserts, so it seems they enjoy the times when we get together to prepare and eat our “gringo” goodies!

Max was recently listening to a podcast featuring pastors, Ed Young and Rick Warren, in regard to evangelism. In it, they stated that the way they teach their church attenders to evangelize is to think about what they love to do, and then go do it with non-Christians. For example, do you love to play boardgames? Then maybe invite some of your non-Christian neighbors or co-workers over for a weekly game night at your house. No, you probably won’t be giving the gospel message to your new friends during your first Scrabble game, but you will be building friendships. And, there may come a time in the future when one of those women experience a serious situation in her life. If a friendship is already built, it will be easy for her to share the experience with you, which would give you a natural and relaxing opportunity to share the gospel message with her. But also remember, even if she doesn’t accept Jesus as her personal Savior, continue being her friend! Being a trusted, committed friend is a witness in and of itself.

Your turn to share: What do you love to do? Are you sharing that love with others that don’t yet know the love of Jesus?

I Corinthians 10:31 (NIV) So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.