Silence signHow often are we silent? Completely silent? No conversation. No reading. No brainstorming. No writing. No making of mental lists. No moving. No music. No sound.

This past year, one of my mentors suggested to me to just be silent before the Lord each day, even if it’s only 5 minutes to start with. To be completely honest, I can’t say I’ve followed that counsel every day, but on the days I do, I wonder why I don’t do it more often. What a peace that passes over me. What a reminder that He is right here with me – my best friend, my confidant, my life partner.

I find, many times, that even within a 5-minute span, my mind can easily start to wander. The children get loud, the daily list of things to do begins to develop in my mind, etc. It helps me, before I being my time of silence, to think of one characteristic of God (for example, ‘love’). When my mind begins to drift, I immediately refocus onto the word ‘love’. I whisper ‘love’ to myself or I say ‘love’ over and over in my mind until, once again, I am back in a state of silence, a state of listening for His still, small voice.

Dear friend, I pray that if you don’t yet have a personal relationship with Jesus, that you will begin to read His words in the Bible and listen for His voice in your heart and soul on a daily basis. I promise, He promises, that He will come and meet with you! If you do enjoy a relationship with Jesus, I pray that you will take the time each day to listen to Him by reading His Word, talking to Him (prayer), and keeping silent before Him. Draw close to Him today!

Habakkuk 2:20 (NIV) But the Lord is in his holy temple; let all the earth be silent before him.

Your turn to share: During what time of the day do you take the time to read the Bible, pray, and/or keep silent before Him?