I am so proud to be Max’s wife. He’s such a good man and godly leader for our family. With God’s help, he provides for us, gives us spiritual guidance, prays continually, studies God’s word, leads by example, listens, helps out around the house, spends time with the children, and even continues to take me out on dates (even if it has to be at the gas station café while waiting for our two older boys to finish soccer practice!).

MaxpreachingOf course, there is that general pride I have of being his wife. But then other times, there comes a greater pride – a “that’s MY MAN!” kind of pride. Those times usually occur when he is in his element – he’s doing the thing that God has truly called him to do. For Max, that’s preaching.

Every time he preaches, I am mesmerized by how the Lord uses him in that way. God has given him such a gift with words and public speaking. During our years in the pastorate, I always felt the proudest of him when he was in front of the congregation doing what God called him to do.

But then came January 6, 2006 – the day I was forced into withdrawal. For over 12 years, I had been listening to my husband use his gift on a weekly basis, and then…nothing. In fact, the withdrawal lasted one whole year! He didn’t preach, he didn’t speak publicly, or even lead any Bible studies. He literally couldn’t.

I had no idea how much that would effect me, but it did. And, I don’t think he realized how much it would effect him either. What was once a natural and consistent part of his life, and of my life, wasn’t there.

Learning a new language has certainly been a humbling experience for us. It is hard to know that you sound as if you’re talking like a child, constantly using broken phrases and incomplete sentences. And to think of how it was for Max! This was his gifting – to preach, to speak. How humbling was that!

However, praise be to God, we are seeing (little by little) the light at the end of the tunnel. We can now begin to understand conversations more as well as respond half-way intelligently. And, an even greater joy has been for me to hear my husband preaching again! And now in Spanish. Oh, let me tell you, friend, when he gets up there now and starts spilling out his sermon using the romantic Spanish language, I can’t help but think “that’s MY MAN“!!

Romans 12:4-7 (NIV) Just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given us. If a man’s gift is prophesying, let him use it in proportion to his faith. If it is serving, let him serve; if it is teaching, let him teach; if it is encouraging, let him encourage; if it is contributing to the needs of others, let him give generously; if it is leadership, let him govern diligently; if it is showing mercy, let him do it cheerfully.

Your turn to share: What gift has God given you to use for His glory?