Just this morning, I was reminded again of the difference in use of certain appliances and housing utilities here in Chile versus the States. It is amazing what you just get used to. (Once again…”it’s not better, it’s not worse, it’s just different!”):

  1. The definition of “dishwasher” has taken on a whole new meaning. I grew up having a machine in my house and had one in almost all the houses that Max and I lived in. Now, “dishwasher” means the person that is standing at the sink with hands full of soapy water and a scrubber.
  2. Since it takes our clothes dryer about 2 hours to dry just one load of laundry, we have learned the art of hanging our clothes on the clothesline in the backyard. Thankfully, here in Chile, there are 8 months of bright sunshine and decent temperatures. I love the fresh, clean scent it gives to my wardrobe!
  3. Clothesline

  4. We do not have a bread machine, but that doesn’t bother us one bit since we can get fresh, (cheap!) bread every day at the bakery down the street.
  5. On the weekends, while taking a shower, be prepared to have to hold the shower knob in place with one hand because the water pressure is so low due to the fact that everyone is home using it at the same time. (SUGGESTION: Most people sleep in, so if you give up your extra hour of sleep and get in early enough, you won’t have to hold the knob!)
  6. I never thought I could do without my Oster electric mixer, but my little hand mixer has worked out pretty well.
  7. Even though most Chileans only drink instant coffee, we did find a drip coffee maker for my husband to use and enjoy! However, much to everyone’s surprise, Max actually has learned to enjoy a cup or two of Nescafe in the afternoons.
  8. There is no electric starter for our gas stove, so we strike a match each time we want to use a burner.
  9. The oven in last year’s house did not have temperature markings on the oven knob, so the standard for heat when baking was small flame, medium flame, or big flame. Thankfully, the oven in this house does have numerical markings on the dial, but, of course, they are all in Celsius! (I have learned that 350 degrees Fahrneheit is about 200 degrees Celsius on my oven.)
  10. What’s a home thermostat? (But, thank the Lord for space heaters!!)
  11. Continuous showers, baths, dishwashing, and clothes washing are possible with on-demand hot water heaters! (Just make sure you don’t do all of them at the same time.)

Philippians 4:11 (NIV) I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.

What appliance(s) do you have now that you did not have in your childhood home?