Surreal — That is what Max and I felt as we sat in the former Congress building, waiting for President Bachelet to arrive. The choir began to warm up, and after two songs, I was in tears and said, “Okay, I can go home now.” Of course, the video below does not give justice to the sound of the angelic singing we heard in that historical building; however, I hope it will give you an idea of just how powerful it was.

We knew when the president was entering because of the sea of photographers and news cameras that sped past us on the red carpet in front of us. Because we arrived early, they seated us in the front row. And then…as surreal as it was, President Bachelet came walking down the center aisle, shaking hands with each person she passed. (It reminded me of the way our presidents enter the Congress building to give their “state of the union” addresses.)

Leaders from various evangelical churches participated in the session. The choir sang a few more pieces, and then the president addressed the audience. Near the end, the audience and choir jointly sang through the verses of “Onward, Christian Soldiers”. Voices of passion sang through the air.

After the benediction, President Bachelet descended from the stage and began to shake hands with the people that had been seated on our side of the aisle. Both Max and I had the opportunity to shake her hand. As well, I handed her a card that I had written to her at about 5:30am that morning. (The Lord woke me up and prompted me to write a note and add a picture of our family as well as some of our “children” from church.)

She quickly exited and then left the premises. People lingered for a few moments and then began to leave. As we entered the lobby area, someone came up to me and asked, “Did you give the President something?” All of a sudden I was a little nervous about having done that – maybe I did something wrong – but I quietly said, “Yes.” Then he brightly smiled and went on to tell me that as she was leaving, she opened the envelope, started reading the card, and looked at the pictures. He was very excited for me, and I have to say that I was quite excited to hear that she actually read it! In it, I wrote about where we have lived (thank you, Yvonne, for reminding me about the house connection!) and where we attend church. I added that my prayer for her is that she would know Jesus personally and experience His joy, His peace, and His love.

“Oh, God. Please use that card for Your glory.”

So, that was our experience… and what an experience it was!! Thanks for your prayers.

Psalm 57:9 (NIV) I will praise you, O Lord, among the nations; I will sing of you among the peoples.

Your turn to share: Have you ever been a choir member?