ocean wavesWe were at the ocean on Saturday. I just love the water. Every time I go to the beach, I am mesmerized by the waves. Their rhythm and routine is so peaceful and calming to me. I stare out at the ocean, lost in the sea of thoughts that race through my mind.

This visit to the ocean had me thinking about the rhythmic motion of the waves. In such a routine way, they draw closer to the shore until they crash into the beach – such precision, such consistency.

I began to picture God placing his hand in the center of the ocean and pressing down to cause the wave to form. I remembered the picture of the clouds I took just a few days before that, for some reason, caused me to think of God’s fingers extended over all the earth.

God’s fingers2

Psalm 95:3-5 (NIV) For the Lord is the great God, the great King above all gods. In his hand are the depths of the earth, and the mountain peaks belong to him. The sea is his, for he made it, and his hands formed the dry land.



Your turn to share: Which ocean did you last visit?