In my time of silence today, I sensed the Lord speak to me.

He said, “I am more important.”

As I reflected upon that, I began to put His words in front of my day’s list-of-things-to-do:

I am more important than home schooling your children.
I am more important than helping Max with his travel preparations.
I am more important than setting up the new blog that you have been asked to help out with.
I am more important than preparing the meals for the day.
I am more important than answering the emails that are still in your inbox.
I am more important than the heavy decisions that need to be made in your life.
I am more important than driving Felicia to gymnastics class.
I am more important than preparing another entry for your SK blog.
I am more important than the laundry that needs to be washed.
I am more important than making the phone calls you need to make today.
I am more important than exercising.
I am more important than the dirty dishes that need to be cleaned.
I am more important than trying to eat healthy.
I am more important than giving your children their baths.
I am more important than beginning to organize and pack things for your trip back to the States.

And then He added, “All of this is so easy for me. Let me take those and work those out for you.”

Are all these things important for me to do? For the most part, yes. However, today, God reminded me that when I come to Him first, He puts everything into perspective. He knows the order of priority of the things on my list – what needs to be done and when it needs to be done OR which things do not need to be done.

Thank you for the reminder, God. You are more important!

Psalm 121 (NIV) I lift up my eyes to the hills– where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth. He will not let your foot slip– he who watches over you will not slumber; indeed, he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep. The Lord watches over you– the Lord is your shade at your right hand; the sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night. The Lord will keep you from all harm– he will watch over your life; the Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.

Your turn to share: Have you given your list of “things-to-do” to the Lord today?