the girlsWhen we moved here to Chile, one of the things I did not expect (living in a Spanish-speaking country) was to be blessed with such a close friendship as I have been privileged to have with my dear friend, Kay.  Words can not even begin to express my feelings for her.  The Lord gave me such a gift in giving us this unique bonding experience together.  Through times of laughter, conversation, tea-sipping, Scrabble-playing, tears, and prayer, we have been able to share life together in such an intimate way as we have lived so far away from our home country and culture.  (She is also a missionary from the United States.)  Thank you, Lord, for granting me the honor of having Kay in my life.

Can I just tell you how proud I am of our dear Felicia?  With the Lord’s help, she has overcome so much more than many people thought she ever could.  Not only does it continue to be a challenge for her to learn English, she has had the difficult task these past two years of learning the Spanish language as well.  (Felicia has moderately-severe hearing loss in both ears and is not able to hear without the use of hearing aids.)  And she made it!  I know that the Lord has used her as His instrument to teach many (including her mom) about perseverance through struggles and obstacles.  She is a faithful friend and a beautiful example of one that enjoys the simplicity of life.  She is a wonderful cook and creative artist.  She is an exquisite ballerina and gymnast.  (In fact, just this past weekend, she received the 1st place medal in her gymanstics competition!)  Thank you, Lord, for granting me the honor of having our precious Felicia in my life.

 3 John 1:2 (NIV) Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.

Your turn to share: Who has been the “Felicia” in your life, an example of perseverance through challenges?