God’s daily bread for me this morning came from the book of Isaiah:

(5)This is what God the LORD says– he who created the heavens and stretched them out, who spread out the earth and all that comes out of it, who gives breath to its people, and life to those who walk on it: (6) “I, the Lord, have called you in righteousness; I will take hold of your hand.  I will keep you and will make you to be a covenant for the people and a light for the Gentiles, (7) to open eyes that are blind, to free captives from prison and to release from the dungeon those who sit in darkness.  (8) “I am the LORD; that is my name! (Isaiah 42:5-8a)         

Bible readVerse 5 was a great reminder to me of who our God is and what He did…and is doing even today.

Verse 6 gave me comfort to know that He “will take hold of [my] hand” as well as “keep[me]” and “make [me] to be a covenant for the people and a light…”.  In what specific ways will He use me?  

In verse 7, He says he will use me (and you!) “to open eyes that are blind, to free captives from prison, and to release from the dungeon those who sit in darkness”.  I had written some notes in my Bible next to these phrases.  I am not sure where the notes came from, but they make things clearer to me in reference to what He is saying in this verse:

“to open eyes that are blind” – Does He mean that He will use me in some way to allow those that are ignorant to the salvation message to become acquainted with Jesus?

“to free captives from prison” – Does this refer to those that are addicts?

to release from the dungeon those who sit in darkness – Does this include those that are depressed?

There are people in my life that are ignorant to the gospel, addicted to something destructive, and/or dealing with depression.  God, use me, in whatever way, to show them Your freedom that is found in Your son, baby Jesus. 

And then God wraps up this passage in verse 8 with another reminder of who He is: “I am the LORD!”

That is all we need to know and hang on to amidst this life’s joys and trials.  May each of us be used by him today to show His love, freedom, and salvation.

Your turn to share:  What did God show you in His Word today?