Bible readOne of my new year’s resolutions this year was to memorize a different passage of Scripture each month of 2008.  My rule was that it could be an English passage that I already know, but that I would need to re-memorize it, this time in Spanish.

So, since the first month of 2008 is over (can you believe it??), and for accountability-sake (yes, you just became one of my memorization accountability partners:-), I am going to “recite” (type without looking in my Bible) the Spanish verses that, with the Lord’s help, I put to memory in January:

 Aclamen alegres al SEÑOR, habitantes de toda la tierra; adoren al SEÑOR con regocijo.  Preséntense ante él con cánticos de jubilo.  Reconozcan que el SEÑOR es Dios; él nos hizo, y somos suyos.  Somos su pueblo, ovejas de su prado.  Entren por sus puertas con acción de gracias; vengan a sus atrios con himnos de alabanza; denle gracias, alaben su nombre.  Porque el SEÑOR es bueno y su gran amor es eterno; su fidelidad permanace para siempre.  (Salmos 100, NVI)            

 Okay… now in English – all together now:

 Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth.  Worship the LORD with gladness; come before him with joyful songs.  Know that the LORD is God.  It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, the sheep of his pasture.  Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name.  For the LORD is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations.  (Psalm 100, NIV)            

 Let’s “shout for joy to the LORD” today (… even if it is gray, icy, and freezing cold outside your doors like it is where I am)!

Your turn to share:  What was one of your new year’s resolutions and how are you doing with it