Four weeks ago:

addison school

Three weeks ago:

isaac school 

Two weeks ago:

 Felicia school

 Up until this point, my children have always been homeschooled (except for a period of 2 months when they attended a Chilean school).  The original plan was to go back to homeschooling the three older children until this coming June and have Jacob attend pre-school three afternoons per week.  We thought it might have been too difficult of a transition to put the older children in public schools, especially while still adjusting to living back in the States.  However, it seems that during these last few years, our children have learned the art of quickly adapting to new situations. 

I did not have a peace about returning back to homeschooling in mid-January.  For all intents and purposes, we were still in the middle of our “summer vacation”.  I was not ready to get back to weekly preparation and planning.

With that lack of peace, and still not sensing clear direction from the Lord, Max and I decided to ask the children what they thought about it. Addison was the first to state his desire to try the public school.  I think with the fact that he was mentally prepared to attend a Chilean school this coming March, he was fine with the thought of it.  Next to agree was Isaac, our 2nd grader.

The plan then became to have Addison and Isaac attend public school and Felicia to continue homeschooling.  However… once Felicia stepped into Isaac’s school, she immediately felt the energy, saw all the bright colors, and quickly became excited about the possibility of her going to school as well.

Okay, then… so here I am, on a Tuesday morning at 11:00am, writing this entry, listening to Jacob (our 4-year old) practicing basketball dunks in his room, and realizing that my three older children are happily enjoying their new classes.  Praise the Lord!

Now the question becomes, “Lord, what is my step in this new chapter of family life?”  I am thankful for the opportunity to reflect upon, pray about, and see what the Lord has in store for me personally. Stay tuned…

 Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)  For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Your turn to share: Please tell about a time when God’s plan for you was different than your plan?