2 women talkingThese past few weeks, there have been a number of personal friends that have been dealing with tough issues in their life.  After listening to a friend share about her hardship, usually my first reaction is to try to fix things for her or try to think of a solution.  Thankfully, in the last couple of years, the Lord has been teaching me of the need to, first and foremost, stay quiet, keep listening, and start praying.

I have to admit, it is still unnatural for me to immediately turn to those things; for instance, I still have to consciously think about first going to prayer, instead of rushing to think of solutions or feeling overwhelmed by a friend’s situation and the details of it.  However, I am thankful that, by God’s grace, it is slowly becoming more natural.

Also, the Lord has given me the words to a song by Charlie Peacock (Now Is the Time for Tears) to remind me of the need to stop, listen, pray, and just be there:

Now is the time for tears. Don’t speak, save your words. There’s nothing you could say to take this pain away. Don’t try so hard. You can just simply be. Cry with me, don’t try to fix me, friend; that’s how you’ll comfort me.

Heavenly Father cover this child with mercy. You are my helper through this time of trial and pain. Silence the lips of the people with all of the answers. Gently show them – now is the time. Now is the time – now is the time for tears.

Psalm 119:28 (NIV)  My soul is weary with sorrow; strengthen me according to your word.

 Your turn to share:  Are you a good listener?