One of the things that has hit me the most since moving back to the States is the seemingly endless pressure on women to “look great”:

  • wear the right clothes (which means buying a whole new wardrobe every season of every year since women’s clothes immediately go out of style once the season-at-hand is over)
  • make sure you have an ample supply of every different piece of clothing – teeshirts, dress shirts, sweaters, turtlenecks, jeans, sweat outfits, dress pants, skirts, formal dresses, high heels, flats, sneakers, slippers
  • have all the matching accessories for every outfit (purse, shoes, jewelry, coat, etc.)
  • be the perfect size
  • use the appropriate makeup to match the time of day and/or outing
  • have the perfect hairstyle, color, and length

I have to admit, I have been tempted more than a few times in the last couple of months to fall into Satan’s trap of telling me that I “need” more – one more dress shirt, one more pair of shoes, one more purse to match, one more set of earrings.

Thankfully, God showed me the verses I need to memorize this month – I Peter 3:3-5a:

Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes.  Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.  For this is the way the holy women of the past who put their hope in God used to make themselves beautiful…

I have been able to think about these verses in those moments when I sense that my mind is wandering into the “need to have it” mode.  I begin to say them to myself:   “[Kristin], your beauty should not come from outward adornment… it should be that of your inner self.”

Ladies, I don’t know how God does it, but when we are close to Him – when we abide in Him – somehow, He mysteriously shines a beauty through us that we could never produce ourselves.

A beauty that is not of this earth.

A beauty that this hurting and dying world needs to see.

Let’s believe in that together; let’s trust that He will give us that beauty as we walk with Him each day.

Your turn to share:  What thoughts came to mind as you were reading this entry?