About four weeks from now, Max and I are headed back to Santiago, Chile, for a quick visit.  We are looking forward to attending the wedding of our dear friends, Kay Stotts and Leo Godoy, as well as having multiple opportunities to visit some of our Santiago churches.

In preparation for our trip and visit, I have been working on a few things:

  • I have asked a few friends to work on gathering some winter clothes that we can pass on to our pastors’ families in Santiago.  They will be so excited to receive some nice, warm clothing during these winter months!
  • I have been searching for Bibles that we can order and take down with us.  Books, in general, are expensive in Latin America.  We are so blessed here in the United States to have opportunity to purchase reasonably-priced books as well as have the library system that we have.  That is not the case in Chile.  It is VERY unusual to see a family have enough books in their home to need even a small bookshelf.  For some reason (maybe it was the teacher in me), that really saddened me.  Even more so, I wanted to see children and young adults be able to have the opportunity to read God’s word daily.  Because so few have a Bible of their own, this is not possible.  I am excited about the possibility of ordering these specific Bibles that I have found through the International Bible Society:  Mi Ciudad, Mi Dios: My City, My God (a spanish NIV New Testament with urban teen testimonies for older teenagers) and the Biblia Devocional Juvenil: Youth Devotional Bible (a spanish NIV Bible with devotionals for young teens)
  • I have prayed about the idea that the Lord gave me to take money down with us to purchase heavy blankets (once we arrive) to pass out to our Chilean brothers and sisters in our churches

Calling all interested SK friends!!

 

Would you be willing to send us some money to help make these purchases?  If so, here’s how to do it:

Send a check — made out to Edgewood Free Methodist Church and labeled, Bibles/Blankets for Chile — to the following address:

Pastor Max and Kristin McGinnis

c/o Edgewood Free Methodist Church

250 Edgewood Ave.

Rochester, NY 14618

(These gifts are tax-deductible.)

Instead of ordering pizza and wings this week, buy 10 urban-ministry New Testaments!  Instead of going to the movies next week, send us the money so we can purchase blankets.  Make it a teachable, hands-on, real moment for you and your family.

My goal is to take some pictures and/or video to let you all see what was able to be accomplished.

Oh, I am already excited just thinking of the possibilities that can happen, SK team!!

Ephesians 4:16 (NIV)  From him [Christ] the whole body, joined and held together by every supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does its work.

Did I miss any details?  Do you have any questions?