I just finished reading through the book of Ruth in the Bible and was struck by a short, simple yet profound verse.  Actually, it is only one sentence that is found in chapter three, verse eleven:

All my fellow townsmen know that you are a woman of noble character.

noble (Oxford American Dictionary) – having or showing fine personal qualities or high moral principles and ideas

As I read the story of Ruth once again, not once did I think of her as an outgoing person or an extrovert. On the contrary, I considered her quite meek and mild-mannered – one that went about her business without much conversation, debate, or uproar. She did not seem to try to draw attention to herself.

So, if my assumptions about her are accurate, how would “all the…townsmen” know of her “fine personal qualities and high moral principles”?

She led a simple life of quiet servanthood. A life that spoke volumes.