snowstormThe long, cold, dark, snowy, gray, and blustery month of January in Western New York – it is tough for me not to have even just a little bit of the wintertime blues during this time of the year.  I just can’t seem to get warm, and I shiver at the thought of having to head outside, even to grab the mail from the mailbox.

Because of these conditions, I am especially thankful, then, for the mysterious warming of my heart as I read God’s Word.  His words keep me from depression, from anxiousness, and from self-pity.  Each time I sit to read, He fills me once again with the daily bread I need.

As I finish the Christmas carol devotional book I have been using (okay, okay, so it has been a month since Christmas, but the words of the carols have been wonderful to continue reading even after the “season” of celebration), some of the words within this poem/hymn struck me profoundly as I read them this morning:

How lovely shines the Morning Star!

Thou mine, I Thine

Keep me kindly in Thy favor, O my Savior!

Thou  wilt cheer me; Thy Word calls me to draw near Thee.

(How Lovely Shines the Morning Star!, Philipp Nicolai, 1597)

There is always hope and joy that is found when we rest in Jesus!  Thank you, Lord, for carrying me through the dark, dreary days.

Life itself was in him, and this life gives light to everyone.  The light shines through the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it.  –John 1:4,5 (TLB)